Hi me and my brother have just agreed to buy a GMC CCKW from a local gentleman we hope to fetch it next weekend. I have pasted a link to a video we took of it in its current resting place she needs a lot of work but we are willing to restore her to her former glory. More video of recovery to follow we are told she runs so are hoping to go down and get her going next saturday and recover her on sunday

Steve.

Edited by stevemil

thanks :) we've had a play last night and tonight and have managed to get her running and moving under her own steam even the winch is working :D heres a rather bad video of her first start up :)

P.S we are looking for a better cab and body ours are very rough, we're not expecting a minter but something better than we have would be nice, any help would be much appreciated

thanks again Steve

Edited by stevemil

Hi, not as suprised as we were when she fired up :-) she's still got the original petrol engine fitted. We are complete novices when it comes to CCKW's so we had to work out what all the controls did, after we worked out how to start her it was just a case of cleaning the points and contacts on the rotor arm and cap to get a spark, the lift pump didnt work so we filled the float chamber through the plug on top and away she went. we took the pump home and serviced it last night and it pumped like a good un once refitted. we replaced a couple of hoses this evening and it even seems to hold water.

Hopefully all the stuff from behind it will be moved tommorow so we can back it out of it's resting place, the video is very poor but we plan to video it properly tommorow evening.

Cheers Steve

These old trucks do amaze me, the gmc that I fetched back from Hampshire had stood for 11 years and I got her running within a very short period of time, and the clutch wasnt stuck on that. Just put some air in the tires and it drove out of the ruts it had sunk into.

Howard

Hello Steve