New to the Bedford RL

ACH

I picked up a Bedford RL 1957 petrol engined truck fitted with an Atlas crane on the rear. I think the vehicle was originally AFS.

What sort of happy crusing speed should I expect?

What's parts availablity like, any good suppliers out there?

Anybody got any ideas what Atlas crane it is, can't find a makers plate?

Would a TK or MJ body fit on it, as my wooden buck is in a bit of a poor state.

What MPG would the engine return in good condition?

Is there a simple diesel conversion? I regularly convert Landrovers but I have no experience with Bedfords, I assume one of the later engines would fit?

Also even though it wasn't particularly hard to drive I think power steering would be nice, again I convert Landrovers to power steering so I'm assuming it's basically the same principle, later Bedford power steering gear could be fitted.

I'll try and upload some pictures of the olde girl.

Bedford RL 1.JPG

Bedford RL 2.JPG

Bedford RL 3.JPG

RS was the short wheelbase version as on tippers, RL was long wheelbase, petrol or diesels optional on both.

Thanks, the only disiel version I've had dealing with was an ex Ministry of Supply box back, we all called it the RS. The reson for disiel was that the vehcile was used as an electronic test truck.

Is there a simple diesel conversion? I assume one of the later engines would fit?

The 300 petrol engine can be changed to a 330 diesel, with Bedfords, the size and fitting on the engine block make it relatively easy to swap and change as there is little difference between petrol and diesel, you need to end up with a diesel engine with bell housing mountings to suit you RL, down on the side, the TK had a different bell housing suspended from a cross member.

It is a lot of years since I was working on Bedford RL and MK, so mind is a bit slow :-D

Was it a two wheel drive truck? They were S type, not R, which denotes 4x4.