1954(?) Triumph TRW

Maggie

I am new to this restoration thing, so any and all help or information is appreciated. I bought this bike last weekend, still doing the research on it.

I feel that I got lucky finding this jewel. The engine is complete, has compression, the electricals are mostly there. It has a Solex carb instead of the usual Amal.

The metal is in very rough condition. The gas tank has been badly bent up, the front fender has been bobbed to the point of not being usable, the only thing I am keeping from it is the lower strut. The rear fender is missing the lower rear part. I have the pillion pad and mounting, the lower part of the nacelle,the light brackets and the seat. Everything else is missing.

Its serial # is TRW 23207 NA

All comments welcome.

Triumph TRW.jpg

Hello Maggie,

This site suggests a 1952 date.

http://www.tri-corengland.com/acatalog/Triumph_Dating_information.html

Your first step should be to contact Annice at the Vintage Motorcycle Club Library. They have the factory despatch records and should be able to tell you where it was originally sent. Wartime supplied vehicles can be confusing because the Canadians did receive some via British channels but post-war machines would have been ordered direct.

http://www.vmcc.net/library.htm

If your bike does turn out to be ex-Canada then Richard's suggestion of looking at 'Maple Leaf Up' is a good one as they will be able to advise on Canada specific markings if you intend to follow that route. They looked fine straight from the factory as well, of course !

Keep us posted !

Good Point. I reckon the implication there with the NA suffix is probably that all TRWs or major components were made in 1952 (with a view to large Korean war sales ?) but actually delivered over the next ten years or so.

The records at the VMCC should be able to confirm actual delivery date.