Jeep won't start

mark4974

Hi folks,

My mate has a GPW or MB (can't remember which!) which won't start. It has been a chassis up restoration but having got nearly to the end it won't start.

It has a new (6 volt) battery, leads, coil, condenser, point, leads and plugs. Power is getting through and there is a spark on each plug. He has tried pouring a small amount of fuel directly into the carb and has even tried Easy Start but still no joy. All earthing leads are good.

I've no experience of 6 volt systems, can you have a weak spark?! Could it be a dodgy component? Has anybody had a similar problem got any ideas?

Cheers

Mark

Does the engine have a chain or gear driven cam? Spent ages trying to get mine to start before reading the gear driven distributor spins in the opposite direction so 2 plug leads need to be swapped.

It could be any number of issues from mechanical to electrical to static or ignition  timing.

As Chris notes above it will need a methodical investigation starting with the easy to do stuff first do not be tempted or persuaded to start ripping things apart until you (or your mate) have gone through all the basic checks including making sure that the valve train and distributor drive are functioning correctly. 

When you mention a weak spark with a 6volt system I'm guessing your referring to the potential for coil robbing as a result of a tight engine after a full rebuild?. 

If everything else checks out OK above disconnect your main light feed and also the generator wires to the CVC box and try a 12 volt battery direct to the starter switch with a 12 volt coil, the 6volt starter will be fine as long as you don't hang on the starter button for extended periods and don't run the engine too long with the generator wires disconnected as it can overheat the wingdings a few minutes is OK.

Pete

Mark,