1911 Dennis Fire Engine 3035

mammoth

I have recently acquired the remains of an old Dennis which, although not the oldest extent Dennis, may possibly be the oldest (by a small margin) fire engine. Apart from it being in the Bathurst, NSW region for a long time I have no knowledge of it's provenance. It is missing the Gwynne pump,  tie rod and steering arms,  engine, and other details. As cab seen the wooden wheels have been sawn off at the hubs. The front  right wheel looks like it might have come off a car (had a 24-5.00 tyre on it).

I can't locate the chassis list on the Surrey County archives so if any one could help I would be grateful.

Steven

dennis 1911 003.JPG

dennis 1911 013.JPG

dennis 1911 002.JPG

dennis 1911 005.JPG

It appears that it was converted to drive a pump fitted amidships, the Mercedes diesel engine grafted into the engine bay.

Prior to purchasing the Dennis I thought I would be really clever and buy this Dennis engine and spare gear box at a big collectors auction in the same region. Alas, the engine numbers tell the story that it is not the missing engine (No 4725). Any ideas about the clutch?

369983722_dennis1911008.thumb.JPG.edf4aaecea8712135a8ddfad30d882ae.JPG831478698_mysterywheelsandleyland004.thumb.JPG.0962990d6741999b43ded57d795a5311.JPG

mystery wheels and leyland 005.JPG

Edited by mammoth

6 hours ago, mammoth said:

I can't locate the chassis list on the Surrey County archives so if any one could help I would be grateful.

Steven

Hi Steven,

A few years back I contacted Surrey Archives on behalf of a friend in NSW who had a 1929 Dennis fire engine, ex-NSW Brigade. They were able to send me a photocopy of the build sheet for that actual chassis number. I don't think they were available off the website at that time, you had to get them to locate and copy it.

regards, Richard

Well, that is a super find! The engine is very nice and will certainly suit it better than the Merc!