Wehrmacht 4x4

Jack

After a quick shufti through Bart's Bible there are quite a few 4x4 cars, (the Steyr looks like a Dodge sized vehicle) or more accurately heavy cars which are also getting up to Dodge size. There are such makes as Merc (obviously), Stoewer, Auto Union/Horch and Tempo. Then of course there is the 4x4 Beetle which was built on the Kubel chassis, no doubt someone will correct me but I think Goering had one of these. I don't know if any were built specifically to be officers cars but I have seen pictures of them used by high ranking officers for parades etc. In general I think most were used as utility vehicles in the field much like the allies used Jeeps and Dodges. I'm not an expert so hopefully someone can shed a bit more light on the subject.

German 4X4's were generally denoted by the suffix of the letter A, hence Steyr L1500A. Or Steyr Lastkraftwagen 1500 (weight class and Allradantrieb=all wheel drive).

Some vehicles came in both 4X2 and 4X4, so you had say the Mercedes Benz L1500S S=Strasse or street in English, or A for Allrad.

A brief list of some 4x4 types:

Light Field cars by Stoewer and BMW

The VW Schwimmwagen,

Medium and heavy cars by Horch.

Heavy field cars by Steyr, Mercedes and Phanomen Granit.

Opel Blitz trucks

Klockner Humboldt Deutz trucks

Buessing Nag Trucks

Mercedes Benz trucks etc..............

David