BSA Parabike

Jack Innes

I have the opportunity to buy a WW II BSA folding bicycle. The bicycle is very complete & untouched. Most of the decals are present & readable. The tires & seat are dried out but original & intact. The original paint is 95% intact. The air pump is there. It is missing the tool pouch. What should I pay for this?

I have seen unmolested examples at the W&P show with a £2000 price ticket. But have a look at the prices a dealer is asking here in UK. http://www.stuart-bray-motorcycles.co.uk/

Ron

They tend to start about the £850 mark up to about £1500.

Wouldn't pay dealer prices tho,not the £2000 anyway. There is a dealer doing them for £1500 each.

Try PARABIKES UK, they could help.

I'm no expert by the way, just interested in PARAS and Welbikes, so do see them round.

There was one on Evil Bay the other week, rusty n tired out, as a resto project (bit fought to be honest) went around the £750 mark

I brought an unmolested one back from Arnhem which has never been touched from the day it was dropped it was found with around 20 more in a fire station refurb a few year ago .The tool kit ,pump markings etc are all intact and complete , all in all in excellent condition it still has the sticky grease all over the sprockets and levers .

I paid for 3 yr ago from a Dutch collector £1700 , which at the time was the going rate .

Prices are frightening. I paid £250 for mine! :wow:

I've got you beat Tony. When I was haggling over the price of my Welbike. The guy swayed me by throwing in a Parabike for another £100. This was about 16 years ago though. He found all this stuff during visits to India. He also found my original Big 4 side car body in India. We've been friends ever since ( I did offer to marry him!!!???). His Dad wrote the book "From Welbike to Corgi" .

I'm not stating what these Parabikes should sell for, merely what others are asking for them.. Ron

Scan-140315-0001.jpg