Saracen oils and lubricants

scott9643

Now the proud owner of a Saracen ACV and have spent the last two days tinkering and finding my way round it. Has anybody got a list of types of lubricants used with what type goes where please, i.e what oil goes in the bevel boxes, gearbox, fluid flywheel, hydraulic tank (is marked OMD 30) is this ordinary hydraulic oil? Any help would be appreciated.

Also -- have any of you ACV owners got any photos you could share of the inside and various fittings please. Mine is uparmoured and doesn't have a turret

Im a hydraulics engineer and OMD 30 should just be an ordenary 30 grade hydraulic oil.

If using a modern equivelant oil in any of your "Beast" then check its compatability with the older grades.

I know that some are not suitable because of the additives in them and can cause breakdown of older components.

Im a hydraulics engineer and OMD 30 should just be an ordenary 30 grade hydraulic oil.

If using a modern equivelant oil in any of your "Beast" then check its compatability with the older grades.

I know that some are not suitable because of the additives in them and can cause breakdown of older components.

Hoseman,

You should be aware the military oil designation do not give SAE or specification numbers in general. OMD30 was a detergent engine oil, declare obsolete and replaced by OMD55 which is a 5w/30 diesel engine oil, only used in Artic conditions. I think there may be a mistake by Scott as it should have a plate on the filler with OM13.

Saracens in general had OM13 in the hydraulics, but there were some very early ones with another grade.

For interest, the OM13 is a hydraulic oil but not the common grade used in plant, it is an ISO 10 grade.

regards, Richard

Edited by Richard Farrant