New old Guy in town

wwiitrucks

Hello

My name is Jeff Jensen, I live in Excelsior,Minnesota,U.S.A.. I have been collecting U.S military vehicles for over 30 years.

I have; 981 Diamond T,M9 rogers trailer,Ward-lafrance series 5, 969 Diamond-T ,M-51 Diamond-T dump,M-62 IHC wrecker.

Two WWII Chevrolet's 1-1/2 ton conventional's and one COE (Its the only complete COE I have seen) , M211, Dodges; 1/2,3/4,1-1/2 Ton, Two M2 halftracks, M29 weasel, trailer's and generator sets.

I am a retired heavy equipment mechanic/operator,Most of my work life was at a dredging company with cranes and backhoes on barges in the summer and on the ice in the winter, I have driven 1000,s of piling,hauled and put in place 1000,s of tons of rip-rap,rock, And dredged 1000's of yards and 1000's of hours welding It makes me tired just thinking about it but I still help out every now and then because it is very hard to find people to do this job these days.

I have my own shop that you will find me there 7 days a week,spring,summer,fall. Winter I shut the door and hang around the wood stove,It is -13 here today with wind chill around -30. I will work on rebuilding engines,starts,generators or what ever I can get down the stairs in the bunker.

I never went to school to learn how to operate or repair all this stuff, My father was a mechanic his whole life and some must have rubbed off on me,He worked for the local power company as head mechanic but on the side owned and operated speed boats at a amusement park that was here in town on the lake, he had 5-7 beautiful Chris-crafts and Hackers. I remember riding then when I was very young,My job was the shift lever. In the mid 60's he bought a marina,

guess who got put to work, pumping gas,caulking,painting,replacing planks,repairing docks. sold the marina in 1974.

So then joined the Navy, Got out in June of 1977. So that's when I went to work for the dredging company and started hauling these old trucks home.