Ferret Fuel pump leak

MiketheBike

Hi,

I am a newbie to this forum, and indeed to MV ownership.

I have just bought a ferret mk1/2, that has a fuel pump leak, that is apparently leaking fuel into the oil.

I have not yet got any maintenance/service manuals (I'm looking into that at the moment), but does anyone know how easy/hard it is to service/replace the fuel pump?

I spoke with a guy at Beltring a couple of years ago, and he had converted his Ferret to an electric fuel pump...which sounds like the way to go.

Any advice?

Thanks,

Mick

Mick,

The fuel pump is in a difficult spot, easiest way to remove it is by taking out the fuel tank first. You shouldn't have much trouble finding a new one or a repair kit. There is nothing wrong with the mechanical pump, I would stick with it if I were you.

Chris

The main diaphragm can be replaced by one from a Series Land Rover, the diameter & holes are in exactly the right place!. You need to drill off the riveted bit in the middle though of the Rover one. The other diapragm is a compensatory diaphragm & if it goes won't leak into sump.

As it was designed for wading, if there was leakage it had to drain there rather to the ground, althogh I have heard of people drilling a drain hole to the air.

I agree with Chris I seen no point in pratting around with electric pumps, just run the thing as nature intended. Although the only exception to that principle would be to fit electronic ignition. (Better spark, no points to adjust, no synchronisation to set up/worry about, no condenser problems, giving better performance & really clean plugs)

Hi Guys.

The pump is not that bad to replace with pretty much everything in situ as I have had to do it twice over the last three months :(

Simply put, you remove the oil cooler and the engine bay cross member (if fitted) and the fuel line to the carb.