WW1 Napier 30cwt lorry

G506

For many many years I have wanted a World War One vehicle, preferably British. Well, despite the best advise from my Psychiatrist, late last year I took the plunge and bought a Napier chassis from a chap in Nottinghamshire, the one advertised on a previous thread on HMVF.

She is missing more than is actually there, but hey, it's a start, and it would be criminal to allow her to be lost. Chassis in reasonable condition, wheels pretty good, same for springs, wheels all turn, front wheels steer, all in all not bad.

So now the tricky bit starts, trying to track down as many of the missing parts as possible! Radiator, steering box/column/wheel, engine, gearbox, pedals, levers, etc, etc.......................

I am a complete novice on anything built prior to 1941, so any info on UK examples that I could photograph, advise from owners of anything of the period, any help gratefully received !

Edited by G506

A few pics to show what I have acquired!

Above, side view showing she's survived pretty well. By all accounts, there was a living van built on top, which obviously protected the chassis very well. Downside, the engine, diff, gearbox, cab, bodywork, etc were probably all removed and scrapped when this living van was constructed. When the gentleman who was living inside died, the wooden superstructure fell into disrepair, subsequently rotted and recently collapsed, revealing the chassis beneath.

Quick check a few miles down the road to make sure she wasnt going to make a break for it!

Back at the workshop, time to start studying what I've gone and done. Wooden crossmembers that had been supporting the living van removed.

So, WW1 lorry fans, what do you think, have I done the right thing?

Overall view of chassis, FOS wood removed.jpg

Checking straps on the way home.jpg

pic15.jpg

Edited by G506

Madness!

But the distance between insanity & genius is very small, or so I have been told!