SMLE WW1 vintage

Graham

Hi

Seasons greetings to you all. Advice please about a suitable seller of a deactivated WW1 vintage SMLE MkIII (?) I am not an expert in this area but I have been visiting and walking over the battlefields around Mametz Wood/Flers and think it is time I owned an example of the typical infantry weapon used in 1916 onwards. Thanks you in anticipation. Graham, Lancashire

The post-1916 model is the MkIII* - where the long range 'volley' sights and the magazine cut-off have been deleted to speed production. (And various other smaller details) Do LOTS of reading on the subject before you part with your hard earned. A lot of the 'WWI dated' SMLE's on the deact market have been recently assembled from parts and merely happen to have a WWI dated receiver. Having said that, the majority of WWI SMLE's will have been rebuilt to some extent after the war.

I'm afraid it's not as simple as pointing you at a specific dealer or two. You need to read up and then look at lots of guns to find ones that are relatively original.

Most important learn your proof marks! Especially the de ac mark. That is what makes the de ac legal, NOT the bit of papaer. Check the state of the metal and woodwork finish, any obvious diffrences in blueing point to a bitza. The SMLE Rifle Number 1 Mark 111 or mark111* have and still are being copied . Bolt and reciver should match numbers. Also check sights, some are marked in meters, obviously not Comonwealth. http://www.leeenfieldrifleassociation.org.uk/page.php?domain_name=leeenfieldrifleassociation.org.uk&viewpage=histor

You could do a lot worse than invest in a copy of 'The Lee-Enfield' by Ian Skennerton - it's pretty much the bible on Lee-Enfields.

http://www.skennerton.com/rifles.html

You might also want to use Militaria 2012 as an opportunity to see in the flesh what is typically for sale (good and bad...) before looking to purchase at Beltring in July where the biggest quantity of dealers are likely to be.