British army uniform WW2

BIGREDONE

I thought I would post some pictures of the kit I have been collecting over the past few months for my new Royal Engineers impression. I will start with the basic kit and uniform. The uniform is repro but most of the rest is original.

I hope this will help anyone who is just starting out.

I will also post the basic uniform and kit for the US infantry man in due course.

I am not an expert on uniforms so please feel free to correct me if I am in error.

P1040624.jpg

P1040625.JPG

P1040627.jpg

P1040629.jpg

P1040630.jpg

P1040631.jpg

P1040633.jpg

P1040636.jpg

Mug should be the red/brown version! :nono: Wandering about with a big WHITE target on your back? :shocked:

Drivers had rubber soles on the boots, not nails.

The SMLE No 1 was used mostly in the Desert and Far East, though there are photos of units armed with No1 in Europe post D-Day.

Edited by Tony B

Thanks for the reply.

Mug should be the red/brown version! :nono: Wandering about with a big WHITE target on your back? :shocked:

Were white mugs ever issued then as I was under the impression they were used early war?

Would that be rubber or leather?

The SMLE No 1 was used mostly in the Desert and Far East, though there are photos of units armed with No1 in Europe post D-Day.

Thanks for the reply.

White mugs were used pre-war, in 1 pint and 1/2 pint sizes, later they issued dark brown ones, so not wrong if early war time is depicted.

A good reference book that quotes Army Council Instuctions (A.C.I.) on uniforms, badges and personal kit of the British soldier in WW2 is "British Army Uniforms & Insignia of World War Two" by Brian L. Davis ISBN 0-85368-609-2

I have come across a pair of 1944 boots with Rubber soles but not on the heels. Also, drivers tended to remove the rear buckles on the belts as they get caught in the seat backs.