Wolfy

25 Pounder Short gun

Never heard of one before and im not an arty expert but those wheels and tyres look suspiciously llike Land Rover ones

R

Quote:

The 25 pounder Short Mark I, or Baby 25 pr, was an Australian pack gun version of the 25 pounder, first produced in 1943. This was a shortened version of the standard 25 pounder, mounted on the Carriage 25 pr Light, Mark 1. The Baby was intended for jungle warfare and was only used by Australian units in the South West Pacific theatre of World War II. The gun could be towed by a jeep or broken down into 13 sections and transported by air. During the New Guinea campaign the gun was manhandled up steep jungle tracks where trucks could not operate.

Got to get to Firepower very soon.

Really like the look of this gun but seems pretty rare either side of the world.

Gents,

212 built. Subject is well covered in:

Gower, S N: Guns of the Regiment

Mellor, DP: The Role of Science and Industry (Aust Official History series)

and my own book,:

Cecil, M K: Australian Field Artillery 1939 to 1945, AMEP Volume 1 (now out of print).

Surviving examples in much better/complete condition that the restored example at Mordialloc (yes the wheels are wrong, but Alex could not locate the correct ones) are held in public collections at:

Australian War Memorial, Canberra

Army Museum, Bandiana

RAA Museum, (moving: temporarily closed: formerly at North Head, Sydney)

There are also a few in private collections.

One was sent to the UK for trials, evidently this is the one held in the Firepower Collection in the UK?

Regards

Mike C

Gents,

RAA Museum, (moving: temporarily closed: formerly at North Head, Sydney)

There are also a few in private collections.

One was sent to the UK for trials, evidently this is the one held in the Firepower Collection in the UK?

No, it was specifically donated to Firepower from Australia.