Hi, I'm StoneRoad

StoneRoad

Hello to you all.

I've been registered for quite a while now, so I thought it was about time I put fingers to keyboard and introduced myself! I am mindful of my privacy, which is why I stick to a username. (although I do use it in various places)

Not all that much to say! I've been interested in all manner of things mechanical, especially transport for most of my life. (even at quite a tender age I "helped" my father with the odd bit of spanner holding / dropping!) I've three old british motorbikes which have been brought back to life.

By profession I am a Librarian (working in industry, not the public system) but currently I am involved with restoration in the heritage sector - mainly working in wood.

When I have had a bit more of a lurk around, I am sure that I'll get around to adding my two penn'orth on a few subjects. And no doubt I'll have some questions of my own!

In the meantime,

All the Best

StoneRoad

• Like 1

Well guys

Thanks for the welcome!

I should have added Lifeboats (old and new) to my interests!

As for m/bikes, the smallest is a D10 BSA Bantam, the middle one is a Matchless "lightweight" 250 CSRish and the largest is a 650 AJS twin, (the last is the eldest from 1961 and the other two are from 1966) - one of these days I'll take some decent images to show people.

You're right, Tony B - wood is reet funny stuff to work with, at least if you cut a bit of metal it is likely to stay in shape! but I'm learning all the time.....

I must remember to update my profile....

• 1 month later...

Hi StoneRoad - possibly your name should be MilitaryRoad ????

Past Haltwhistle this summer on the train from Hexham to Carlisle , about 5 to 8 miles east of Carlisle (north side of track) I observed some interesting restored WW2 vehicles in a garden. Sat at the correct side on return trip doing my best to spy and somehow I missed the place !!! Any idea what it was , forget now , possibly CMP - certain more than one ???