David Brown Taskmaster

HWade

I have a David Brown taskmaster to repaint. Does anybody have any pics showing the correct colours it should be, the colours at the moment are a blue with a yellow bonnet. I thought that the RAF used a more of a grey blue in the early days. Can any body help.

Thanks

Howard

I managed to get the date and the owner said it was built in 1950s. I have seen some pics of them painted in more of what they call a blue/grey rather than a blue. I will post a pic tomorrow when I get to the workshop.

Thanks everybody for your help so far.

Howard

I managed to get the date and the owner said it was built in 1950s. I have seen some pics of them painted in more of what they call a blue/grey rather than a blue. I will post a pic tomorrow when I get to the workshop.

Thanks everybody for your help so far.

Howard

Howard,

Perhaps it was used on a Fleet Air Arm station? I think they used vehicles painted in dark blue same as Royal Navy, at one time.

Hello Richard

Thanks for that Its not a dark blue, but its more of a blue than grey, you will see what i mean when i take a good picture of it. I do have one pic i can post now of one of the front wings, this gives you a rough idea of the colour.

Thanks Howard

tug 004.jpg

Hello Richard

Thanks for that Its not a dark blue, but its more of a blue than grey, you will see what i mean when i take a good picture of it. I do have one pic i can post now of one of the front wings, this gives you a rough idea of the colour.

Thanks Howard

OK Howard, can see the photo and it looks like RAF Blue Grey, but I am sure Ted will come along and give you all the info you require re. this as he is ex-RAF MT

A friend used to have what I believe was called a Tugmaster - a lwb DB with fluid flywheel and lots of ballast weights . That was finished more of a grey blue but it was fifties vintage so probably a different colour scheme by then .