Crossley Q type 4x4

Is there anyone on here with a Crossley Q type 4x4 lorry? Wartime vintage used by RAF, there were some used with signals house bodies, and shorter ones towing Queen Mary trailers, and an open cab crass tender.

I have some information that might well be of interest to someone who owns or is restoring one. Last saw a restored one in Essex / Suffolk area, many years ago.

• 10 months later...
Is this info still available Richard?

My post from last year related to the whereabouts of the front part of the chassis with engine and front axle in it. Very rough, it could well have been scrapped by now, I cannot find the details of who contacted me about it, now.

Hi Graham

I am new to the milweb scene so I would appreciate any help or guidance you can give in tracking down Crossley fwd spares or current owners, I am afraid I dont yet know who stinker or pete are but they sound like interesting characters!

Are there any Crossley FWDs that are restored or being restored at the moment? I know of the crash tender at cosford and a queenmary tractor at Winchester but thats all and niether have the general service cab which is what I need to copy for mine.

I also need a contact to have the front wings copied or maybe modify some Matador wings? ideas on a postcard to 'upto myneck in rust, andbushes, Hants.'

Hi Graham

I am new to the milweb scene so I would appreciate any help or guidance you can give in tracking down Crossley fwd spares or current owners, I am afraid I dont yet know who stinker or pete are but they sound like interesting characters!

Paul, a PM sent to you.

Graham,

I remembered that bit, it was the guy you put me in touch with, who I have forgotten :undecided:

Richard

David and I came across the 'Q' at Tinkers Bush when we cut up the remains of a WK60 to provide donor parts for David's truck that would be about six years ago.