Identification and Information required!

LucyBlack

Hello Everyone!

Firstly, let me apologise for registering purely to ask some questions! I'm currently studying some military vehicles as part of my course in engineering, and I'm after some information on one of them and was wondering if anyone here would be able to help me.

As part of my course I have been examining the construction, performance and specs of a selection of vehicles. Most of these I have been readily able to find information about, with the exception of this:

Embarrassingly I don't actually really know what it is! My Lecturer has told me it's a "Claymore Tactica" But I am struggling to find any information whatsoever about it, which leads me to think that it is infact something else. The closest match I've found is an Alvis Tactica, but while the cockpit looks similar, externally it's quite different.

Can anyone here tell me what it actually is? And if so, when it would have seen service? I'd love to find some more information about it's specification too (Engine type and size etc).

Many thanks!

LBpencil.png

IMG_2955..JPG

IMG_2965..JPG

Hi Lucy,

Looks like an Alvis Tactica with bigger wheels to me. Perhaps it's a later version. I have the Tactica manuals, which for a military vehicle are quite poor. I can tell you it has a Perkins 180Ti but other than how to use it and a lubrication diagram that's about it.

Chris

Great, i've since found a bit of information in Jane's Armour and Artillery about them. Apparently there was a choice of engines, one of which was the Merc 906 Diesel engine, which makes sense as that is what is fitted to the vehicle above.

Cheers for the information again!

• 2 years later...

I know it’s an old thread, but if anyone is still interested, I think that this vehicle was a prototype made by Glover Webb just before they were closed down.