real or fake tiger 1 geny

eddy8men

Hi guys

I bought this from ebay ,the seller claimed it came from the placy montaigu region and could have come from a tiger 1,now i'm no expert on these things but i thought it was worth a gamble as it certainly looks like it came from a german vehicle.If anyone could shed some light on it's origins i'd be very grateful.many thanks eddy

001.jpg

002.jpg

003.jpg

004.jpg

005.jpg

Again steve your knowledge of all things armoured amazes me,I had posted this on another forum this morning and a chap from poland posted the diagram for a panther dynamo and it was definately the same one,do you know if they were interchangeable with the tiger.I have to admit i'm pretty chuffed i had a nasty feeling somebody was going to tell me it was a motor from an old table saw .i owe you a pint(Again)

all the best eddy

eddy8men

do you know if they were interchangeable with the tiger.

I would imaging that they are interchangeable panther motors are (600bhp) Hl230 p30 as were Tiger 2. Tiger 1 motors were HL230 p45 (700bhp) the change in performance could be the carbs. Generators should not vary much or at all as the electrics are all a muchness.

The French used a number of Hl230 motors on protoype tanks in the post war period and if I remember correctly a fleet of 60 ARL44 tanks, with motors classed as 575Bhp and a very very limited use of a few Panthers Post War. So it is probably not surprising that a number of HL230 parts are around. Wheels and tracks reported two crated HL230 about 20 years ago.

Actually I think you should go for a ARL44 or a AMX50 rather than a Panther now that would be a head turner.

Steve