Special Saracen?

judgedredd

How cool is that!, what do you need to know, Mr Dredd? ...although, when you do get it running, -you'll need someone 'up top', with all that extra stuff on the front, visibility will be awful!,:sweat: ....give me a shout, if you like, -I've had mine on the road for a couple of years now.... whereabouts are you?

83 BA 78 in Arena Overlord 2009.jpg

visibility is not that bad actually , im just trying to find someone that knows about saracens in general (it ticks over just wont fire )it used to run about 18 months ago now just wont start . im in watford hertfordshire i think it would be good to take to shows as it is a bit different and also trying to find out about its military history but with not much luck (im fairly new to allthis )but if you think you could help it would be much appreciated

Have you personally had, or heard it running?

Do you mean it turns over?, as opposed to ticks over but won't fire.

Well the engine isn't really that much different to any other petrol engine, ie.

with fuel, and sparks at the right time, it should run ok.

Even my Saracen is sometimes a little reluctant to start, if it's not been run for a few weeks.

What seems to happen is the fuel drains back to the filter, as the fuel lines are rather large, as I'm sure you are aware, so the engine will tend to crank/turn over a fair bit before it will fire, and pick up. First of all, check the engine oil level! I'd check that the batteries are FULLY charged, as it's a big old lump to spin over.

Then disconnect a spark plug (not teaching one to suck eggs here!), get someone to hold plug lead against the cylinder head somewhere WITH INSULATED PLIERS PLEASE!!!!, and check for a spark, while you spin it over on the starter button, if you have no spark, it could be dirty points in the distributor,-a very fiddly job to open up and clean/reset the points,(tie your 5/16ths/11mm spanner to your wrist with wire or string, I guarantee you'll drop it!).