Possible James ML Purchase

fc101daz

Hi All

I am looking for some James ML advice!I have been viewing a bike a couple of times now and although complete it does require total restoration.One thing I am unsure of is the frame number,it is ML10203?Does this make it a postwar civvy frame or is it still military?Engine number is OK.I see from Stefanos posts there could be a contract plate,if so where would this be?It needs an engine rebuild as the kickstart splines are worn and it won't hold oil so needs bushes but I'm led to believe engine parts are available?The whole bike needs detailing as things like footpegs and handlebars are wrong.There are some stays missing from the fromt mudguard.Is this kind of thing available?I'm not scared of the work as I restore classic cars for a living and the bike is VERY cheap!!!!!!!!

Your input would be much appreciated

Daren

Hi All

I am looking for some James ML advice!I have been viewing a bike a couple of times now and although complete it does require total restoration.One thing I am unsure of is the frame number,it is ML10203?Does this make it a postwar civvy frame or is it still military?Engine number is OK.I see from Stefanos posts there could be a contract plate,if so where would this be?It needs an engine rebuild as the kickstart splines are worn and it won't hold oil so needs bushes but I'm led to believe engine parts are available?The whole bike needs detailing as things like footpegs and handlebars are wrong.There are some stays missing from the fromt mudguard.Is this kind of thing available?I'm not scared of the work as I restore classic cars for a living and the bike is VERY cheap!!!!!!!!

Your input would be much appreciated

Daren

Daren,