Para light weight

plainmilitary

Hi guys

Having just aquired a rather sorry looking SER3 Light weight, i am trying to find some info on Para light weights.

The reason for this is I am going to dress her as one of these vehicles. I have found one picture that is small and does't give much away on what goes where.

Does anyone out there have any pictures I could use in the build of my vehicle. This is my first attempt at this sort of thing so it will be slow but I am going to do a build in progress.

Also can anyone point me in the right direction to sorce a tail gate for a AP landy.

Many thanks

Tony

Tony,

The split tailgates turn up on ebay quite often. There is also a good book my Mark Cook called 'The Half-Ton Military Land Rover' which has hundreds of good photos. You should find one of those on ebay too!

Chris

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Chris

Might have to take you up on that offer. Going to give Paul a ring tonight and try and arrange something for the weekend. Pete has brought another landy which we are going to strip for bits. If anyone wants bits for a SER3 station wagon give me a few days to see what we need and the rest will have to go.

Picked my LW up yesterday and well what can I say. The main bolk of it is there IE rolling chasie, body work but the rest is in a big box. Its going to be fun trying to find were everything goes. I will take some pics today and post them on the condition you don't laugh at it. This will be my first attempt at restoring a land rover so please bear with me.

Tony

OYA the engine is in a big box as well. The military reg num is 2020KG is this normal? I allways thought it started with numbers then letters then numbers. :dunno:

Chris

I went over and had a look for my self today and yes you are right. The real REG is 02 GF 79. We had a good look around it and it is going to take a bit of work but nothing we can't handle.

I have also got some pictures of her which I will post real soon.

Tony