GMC CCKW 353 Use by Polish Forces in WW2

riverman

Hello,

My first post on this forum so I'm hoping for a bit of beginners luck... I am currently restoring a GMC CCKW 353 A2 (LWB) and, in common with some other GMC restorers would like to finish it in a different way to the standard US deuce. Not that theres anything wrong with that but I also have a family reason.

My Uncle was a Pole who served in the ETO and I would love to find any written or photographic evidence of Polish forces using the open cab GMCs - I have found and heard some anecdotal evidence but would love to find something concrete. If there is anyone out there who can give me some information or point me in the right direction, I'd love to hear from you.

I've been running the truck as a rolling restoration for a couple of years now but its off the road for serious work now starting at 0900 tomorrow with the rats nest that is the wiring..... (more posts/questions about this anon)

Look forward to hearing from you

Riverman

Gents,

Many thanks for the information, I'll follow the leads up and post any concrete information that I get. Ben - that is a fine looking FWD, wonderful to see such an unusual truck on the scene. Hanno - I had seen that thread a couple of years ago but lost it so many thanks for reintroducing it to me,Thanks again - riverman

these might help riverman proof of the use by the Polish, afraid the markings are not to clear but i have colour charts with markings very much on British designs if can fathom out which is which The truck in the river bed is serving with the 6th sappers company the others are with 23rd transport company

hmvf1.jpg

hmvf2.jpg

hmvf3.jpg

hmvf4.jpg

Thanks for postings those pics here, Les.

I see swb CCKW-352´s and even GMC CCK-353 6x4 Cargo trucks, but no open cabbed CCKW-353 ones.