RB44 with Radio body, would it make a good camper?

sas pinkie

Well My girlfreind is starting to tire of camping at shows and started mooting words like "caravan"...... makes me cringe just typing the word....lol

I was wondering with the new onset of RB 44's, would one with a radio body on make a good camper conversion?

I have one of these new fangled liscences, but heard that if I fix the body to the vehicle in a permanent manor then I could register an HGV as a camper and drive it on my existing rubbish liscence.

I like the DAF's but they seem rather large for getting storage for, so wondered on the RB44.

What are they like on deisel?

Can you stand in the back radio body?

How easy to work on and get spares for?

Is there going to be enough room in the radio body to make a 2 berth camper, with bathroom from?

All just ideas at the moment, but I do enjoy my lass coming with me, so thought I better explore all possible options to keep her happy....

I'm no expert, but I'm 99% sure you can't drive an RB44 on a "new" licence, even if it's converted to a camper.

A lot of people seem to think that because a vehicle is converted to a camper then they can drive it on a car licence. This is incorrect. You need the licence due to the weight of the vehicle. As an RB44 is 5 tonnes you won't be able to drive it on a new licence. Once it is converted you can register it as a Motor Caravan. This then means the vehicle is no longer a Private Heavy Goods Vehicle, but a Motor Caravan. This effects the MOT of the vehicle, but not the licence to drive it. All Motor Caravans regardless of size and weight are tested as a Class 4 (Car) MOT. You will still need a C1 licence to drive it as it's registered weight is over 3.5 tonnes MAM.

I was right. Just had a look and found this.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Motoring/DriverLicensing/WhatCanYouDriveAndYourObligations/DG_10037875

Edited by LoggyDriver

Cheers for that.......