Landie 109 Rear Axles

Rangie

With the Army's general insistence on commonality, having Rover diffs front and rear (albeit with reinforcing plates on the rear axle), how long did the diff last in-service?

With a 109 GS, I could not see it being too overloaded the majority of the time and would expect it to last a fair while.

At the other end of the scale, is the likes of a Marshall Ambulance. At 2.7 tonnes ULW and up to 3.4 with casualties, the Rover axle must put up with some abuse being driven as hard as possible, usually in 2WD (albeit not very fast 45/50mph on the flat)!!

Were the army continually changing differentials, or (and I am of the opinion), the rover diff is a damn sight stronger than people give it credit for??

I have many years experience of using/owning/running/abusing/occasionally modifying landies and rangies and have yet to burst a Rover diff..............:D

Alec.

Were the 109s not equipped with the Salisbury rear axle as standard, certainly on the series 3? These are very hard to break. I believe the series 2 and 2a 109s had rover rear axles to match the front but I could be wrong. I've just removed a rover rear axle in VGC from my own 2a to fit a Salisbury for the new Tdi engine if anyone needs one. daz

There were threetypes of axle available on series Land Rovers. Rover, two types, E.N.V. and Sailsbury. Rover diffs do go realativly often, and are quite easy to replace. They go through the front. Sailsbury are very strong, thankfully, they need a special spreader to strech the back of the diff housing for replacement.

Mil ones yes.

IIRC civvy ones got them around 1980.

Mike

Not disputing that Mike, but a civvy 1977 109 I had had a Salisbury on the back. Possibly to deal with the formidable power of the 2.25 diesel....:rofl:Could have been retrofitted as anythings possible with a Landy :nut:

Edited by daz76

1981 still with Rover axle.